There are nine mayors buried at the General Cemetery Key Hill and all but one were mayors of Birmingham. Birmingham has had a Mayor (and elected council) since 1838. The office was raised to the dignity of Lord Mayor when Queen Victoria issued Letters Patent on 3 June 1896. By modern convention, the Lord Mayor stands for a year, and is installed into office at the Annual Meeting of the City Council. Lord Mayors are non-political and non-executive during their term of office and act as Chair of the Council. As the First Citizen of Birmingham, the Lord Mayor represents not only the City but also the people of Birmingham. The honour of being Lord Mayor is now usually alternated between the Conservative, Labour and Liberal Democrat Groups. In normal circumstances the Lord Mayor becomes Deputy Lord Mayor for the following year.